Day Twenty-Nine – Miss Beans

So I met Miss Beans as a freshman in high school (DC girls rock!) and during our first Christmas season we had a secret Santa event and she played my Secret Santa. (I don’t know if she even remembers this but I sure do). The idea was to leave little notes or tiny things for your secret Santa every day and then a gift right before Christmas. In those days I was a huge fan of the Fifth Dimension (Google them if you don’t know who they are but they were and probably still are awesome!) and one day Miss Beans left me on a tiny little note the words from one of their biggest hits, One Less Bell To Answer.

And the fact that I remember this some 100 years later tells you what an impact it had on me. She made a point of knowing what I liked and did something tied into it. It’s the kind of person she is. She’s a fierce warrior who like too many women I’ve known has fought a health battle and, so fortunately, come out the other side. She adores my Mom and I suspect that if we had a DC lunch and my Mom showed up without me, it would be OK with her.

She has an enormous heart that includes her husband, kids and grandkids and all of us lucky enough to be her friend. She is the best friend to animals with her current menagerie including the largest rabbit I’ve ever seen who ate the cushion of one of her chairs, a pretty big cat and the newest additions, 2 puppies named Vito Corleone and Luca Brasi whose specialties so far seem to be dining on shoes and slippers. She is always on the go visiting folks, having lunch with friends, staying busy, moving onward and upward.

I don’t see her nearly often enough (my fault, not hers) but any time I do get a chance to go somewhere she is I try to make sure I sit next to her because she is a veritable ray of sunshine on the gloomiest of days. She is supportive, upbeat, loyal and protective, all of which I’ve experienced first-hand as I know many people (hopefully) reading this have experienced as well. I can only speak from my own experience but somehow she knows to reach out when your friend reaching out is what you really need.

If I was stranded on a desert island, she’d be one of the people I’d hope would be stranded with me. She is the best of the best and inspires me to scale the heights she does. We’ve grown up together and now we’re growing older together. I can’t wait to see what she does next.

About mygreatkid

Mom, daughter, friend, blogger, DC grad.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

