Day Fourteen – Josh

So on one of my visits to the West Coast edition of the happiest place on earth, the piano player (who had become a friend) introduced me to Josh, who was the children’s performer both at the hotel and in the theme park. He was a gifted storyteller who gathered the children at the enormous fireplace in the lobby of the grand hotel I was fortunate enough to be staying at and would entertain them with stories and songs and poems. He was (and is) thoroughly engaging and you could feel the connection between him and his audience and the joy he brought to them.

We met and clicked instantly and exchanged phone numbers so we could keep in touch. And we have for more years than I can count. He’s handsome, charming, compassionate, loyal, spiritual and devoted to those he loves (and loves While You Were Sleeping as much as I do). And when I needed someone to save me after my darling Dad died, he was the one who did that.

A few months after my Dad died, my great kid headed off to work at a summer camp for 6 weeks. I was missing him and missing my Dad and at a loss as to what to do with myself. I was unhappy, profoundly so.

I believe that although we can’t see our loved ones once they leave us they can and do send us signs. I often hear my Dad’s favorite misheard song, Baldheaded Woman, when I truly need it or when something is happening where I wish he was around to guide me and counsel me and hug me. But after he died, I was waiting for a sign, something to let me know he was still with me. My Mom and my sisters had gotten their signs but I hadn’t.

Josh and I met at the hotel one afternoon when he was off and we sat outside and talked. And talked and talked and talked some more. He let me vent, he let me cry, he held my hand, he hugged me. He said all the right things and told me not to give up, not to lose faith and to trust that God and my Dad were with me.

That night when I slept I dreamed about my Dad for the first time since he had died. He came up behind me and put his hand on my shoulder and told me he OK and not to worry any more. And it changed everything for me. The burden of my grief was lessened, the pain of not getting a sign was gone.

And I truly believe in my heart of hearts that Josh was the reason it happened. Because he took the time to be the ultimate friend to me, he opened my heart to the sign that was waiting to be seen. I will never forget that gift he gave me and I can never thank him enough for what he did. He was and is my hero.

 

About mygreatkid

Mom, daughter, friend, blogger, DC grad.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

