Days Two, Three and Four – Karen, Janice and John Edward

So a few years ago I entered a raffle on a whim to win 2 tickets to a taping of The View on which John Edward, the psychic, was going to be doing readings for people in the audience. Amazingly, I won the tickets but as it turned out the day of the taping conflicted with something else and I wasn’t going to be able to use them.

I sent a note out to my high school friends offering them to whomever claimed them first. And the first girl to send me a note back was my friend, Karen (who I affectionately call Baby since she is officially the youngest member of our graduating class). “They’re yours”, I told her and was happy that someone was going to be able to use them.

And then a few hours later my dear friend, Janice, said she wanted them, not knowing Karen had already claimed them. Janice is as strong a woman as I know and had lost her daughter, the heroic Jenn, to leukemia in 2011. She wanted to attend the show for obvious reasons. By that time, I had already forwarded on the e-mail with the tickets to Karen and a few minutes after Janice expressed interested I received an e-mail from Karen telling me she had passed the tickets on to Janice because she knew how much she really wanted and needed to go to the reading. (As a side note, Janice and her amazing family have raised tens of thousands of dollars over the years since Jenn’s passing for the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society. They have taken the worst possible tragedy a family can experience and tried to make something good out of it. Bravo, Esposito Family).

I’ve kept Karen’s e-mail in my e-mail folder for nearly 4 years because it touched me so much. It proved to me that true love – whether it’s for your spouse, your partner, your parents, your children, your friends – is selfless. You want what’s good for the other person. And that is what my friend Karen did that day, without any wish to draw attention to herself for giving up the tickets. She shared her love for her friend and proved that a gesture, no matter how great or small, matters.

I’ve never forgotten this moment. Karen thought of her friend, Janice got to the reading and I got to experience what the world needs more of: kindness, empathy, compassion. I am blessed to be in the company of these 2 amazing women.

 

About mygreatkid

Mom, daughter, friend, blogger, DC grad.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Days Two, Three and Four – Karen, Janice and John Edward

  1. Lorraine Nienstedt says:

    Great story….:)
    Have a wonderful day,
    Lorraine (Roth)

    Lorraine S. Nienstedt
    Assistant Director
    School of Administrative Science
    Fairleigh Dickinson University
    1000 River Road, H DH 2-13
    Teaneck, NJ 07666

    201-692-7172 (voice)
    201-692-7179 (fax)
    niensted@fdu.edu

Leave a Reply

