Ur not speaking right

When did not knowing how to speak or write English properly become fashionable? Is there a group on Facebook that explains to people the difference between “your” and “you’re”? Or “its” and “it’s”? Or “there”, “their” and “they’re”? Because there are an awful lot of people who have no clue how to use any of those words.

Maybe I’m jaded but wasn’t learning that part of 4th grade English? I’m not sure why this is happening although I have my theories that a lot of it has to do with texting. Since we all now text using abbreviations and “ur” is one of them, how many of us know which one we’re using or that we’re using it properly? Do schools place less emphasis on grammar these days? Do parents not require it of the schools they send their children? Or does it just matter less to people? I just know that when I was a kid – when dinosaurs roamed the earth, as my great kid likes to remind me – I would have (as opposed to I would of, another instance of incorrect grammar) been in a world of trouble if I didn’t know how to use the proper words in the proper way. Am I asking too much? I don’t think so. Writing – and writing properly – is a skill that we all learned and can re-learn if we try.

About mygreatkid

Mom, daughter, friend, blogger, DC grad.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ur not speaking right

  1. Carol says:

    Remember having to diagram a sentence? Those were the days. I remember spending a lot of time on grammar homework!!

Leave a Reply

